Indecisive beginnings

Over the past few weeks I’ve been umm-ing and ahh-ing over whether to start a blog. After stumbling across two of my friends’ amazing blogs while swamped with uni work, I thought it’d be a brilliant idea to write my own, and loooads of really cool ideas popped into my head, from ‘A day in the life of an English student’ to what it’d be like to be JD from Scrubs, constantly narrating your own life and disappearing into daydreams at the drop of a hat. I thought it’d be good to develop my creative writing skills a bit too, and so I resolved to take up this challenge once I didn’t have to worry about evaluating Adorno’s bleak perception of popular culture or discussing the thematic links between the beginning and ending of Beowulf.

Once I’d handed my essays in, this enthusiasm began to fade away, and life went back to normal. However, the embers of my inspiration were fanned into flame by a pact with another friend that we’d both start the blogs we’d previously intended to begin, and so a few days later I sat down at the computer, determined to write something funny, edgy and entertaining. After a couple of hours, though, I came to the stark realisation that the hundred-or-so words that I’d written were complete rubbish, and I wouldn’t want to read them myself, let alone inflict this pain on anyone else! I decided to give up on my blog, and that was that.

But as I woke up this morning, EVERYTHING changed. I realised there was one thing that I just HAD to write about, something amazing that’s had a massive impact on my life, and to do this I’ll have to jump back to four and a bit years ago…

Leave a Reply

