#Freedom

A couple of days ago I joined Twitter. I told myself it was to keep up with technology, to keep up with my friends, to investigate the hype for myself, and even to be able to glorify God in a new and innovative way. Subconsciously, though, I think it was just a tactic for dodging revision. I reckon Twitter’s quite good: the 140-character limit forces you to be concise, but it’s annoying that you have to condense what you want to say into such a short amount of letters. (I guess Facebook’s the place for longer conversations, though, or, dare I say it, talking to people face-to-face..!) Its newness to me makes it quite exciting, and when someone tweets me (is that what it’s even called?) it definitely generates a momentary burst of happiness.

But suddenly I stumbled across Galatians 5:1, and that made me think. It says ‘It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.’ By immersing myself even more in social networking, I pondered, have I burdened myself with this metaphorical yoke of slavery? This might sound a bit over-dramatic, but I’m bad enough with Facebook as it is, especially the way I tend to scroll down my News Feed for minutes on end, catching up on every single post that’s been posted since last time I checked, no matter how mundane they are. Was this a moment of divine revelation? Had I become a slave to social networking?

Maybe, but that doesn’t mean social networking’s bad: it’s the way I use it that’s the potential problem. Facebook, Twitter, blogging, and other similar things are mint, especially for giving yourself a platform to express yourself and for keeping in touch with people you don’t get chance to talk to in person. However, I need to remember not to let them take over and impinge too much on my life in the real world; my life of freedom that’s meant to radiate God’s goodness.

Leave a Reply

