‘The Spirit of the Lord is on me’

As I was flicking through Luke the other day on my phone’s Bible app, two verses blew my mind. Jesus is reading out a passage from Isaiah, which says:

The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour.” (Luke 4:18-19)

We talk about the Holy Spirit loads at church, but seeing this in writing made me stop and think about how great it is that God’s living inside me. It’s absolutely amazing that the one who created the whole universe and holds the whole of time and space in His hands chooses to dwell inside little old me, despite all my imperfections and weaknesses – wow! The word ‘because’ is important here, indicating that the Holy Spirit is inside me for a reason; to help me do my bit of God’s plan. The fact that God’s given me a purpose and chosen to use me is fantastic in itself, but He’s also fully equipped me for the things He’s sending me out to do, meaning I can be confident in EVERY situation; confident because I can overcome anything with His strength. While this is hard to put into practice when I’m feeling stressed, remembering that the Spirit of the Lord really is on me can give me that little reminder that He’s got it all under control and give me that little boost that I need to succeed.

Leave a Reply

